I want to be a doctor-mommy when I grow up

Ask. Go, ahead. Don’t be shy.

Ask Gabi what she wants to be when she grows up.

“A doctor-mommy,” she’ll say.

What’s that?

“It’s what you do when you want to be a doctor and a mommy,” she explained.

Did you hear that? A doctor-mommy. Two occupations rolled into one.

My little feminist is going to grab the bull by the horns.

She believes both professions – being a doctor and a mother – are equally important and both roles are the perfect marriage to becoming a better person.

Most importantly, she believes that both titles deserve the same amount of admiration and respect.

“I want to help all the mommies be better mommies in the world,” Gabi explained.

I don’t hope that someday my children go to college. I expect them to – just as I expect them to be uplifting and inspire others. 

Empowering others is one of the most important acts of kindness.

I’m tickled with joy that my little one admires those in such selfless positions.

Leave a comment